Questions? 01443 841228

Welsh Baccalaureate

Course Title : Welsh Baccalaureate
Examination Board/Web address :WJEC WBQ
Qualification :Welsh Baccalaureate
Grade Range :National & Foundation

Aims of the course

The Welsh Baccalaureate combines experiences and projects that help you to develop as an individual, and will equip you for your next steps – for work, university and for life. The Welsh Baccalaureate has a strong focus on building your strengths and you will be encouraged to think and study independently.

What will I study? – Course Outline

The Welsh Baccalaureate is made up of two parts which are the Skills Challenge Certificate and the Supporting Qualifications. The Supporting Qualifications consist of the other subjects you are studying in Year 10 & 11. You will need to pass a minimum of 5 GCSE grade C or above for the National and a minimum of five GCSE grade A*-G for Foundation level to achieve the Welsh Baccalaureate. These GCSE qualifications must include GCSE English Language and GCSE Mathematics – Numeracy. Two of the other three qualifications can be equivalents (BTECS)

The Skills Challenge Certificate is made up of four different challenges which are:

  • The Enterprise and Employability Challenge
  • The Global Citizenship Challenge
  • The Community Challenge
  • The individual project.

Within these four challenges you will be assessed on a range of different essential employability skills which include:

  • Digital literacy
  • Critical thinking
  • Creativity and innovation
  • Planning and organisations
  • Personal effectiveness.

How will I learn? What skills will I acquire?

The Welsh Baccalaureate is about learning by doing. You will be involved in a range of projects that will help you to develop the skills considered important by employers and universities. You will have the opportunity to work in a team as well as to work more independently.

How will I be assessed?

There is no examination but instead you will be required to pass every element of the Skills Challenge Certificate plus achieve your five supporting qualifications which include English Language and Maths (Numeracy) GCSE.

Each of the four Skills Challenge Certificates is graded at Pass, Merit or Distinction and it is the combination of these grades that will dictate your final overall grade.

This combination of individual outcomes for each of the four components will determines if the Welsh Baccalaureate Skills Challenge Certificate is awarded at National or Foundation level.

The final grades are awarded at A*-C for the National Skills Challenge Certificate and Foundation Pass or Foundation Pass*

Progression following this course. What’s next?

The central focus of the Welsh Baccalaureate at Key Stage 4 is to provide 14-16 year olds with the opportunity to consolidate and develop essential and employability skills so pupils following the Welsh Baccalaureate will be prepared for either employment or further study.

Pupils get experience of the real world, and learn how to apply theoretical skills in practical situations.

“The Welsh Baccalaureate at last seems to offer the right mix that employers have been waiting for – ‘ready made employees’ with the appropriate knowledge, skills and attitude to make an immediate difference on entering the workplace.”

Roger Evans, Plant Director, INA Bearings, Schaeffler UK

Future career opportunities

The broad and diverse nature of the Welsh Baccalaureate ensures pupils have transferable skills.

“Welsh Baccalaureate students’ skills, combined with their subject expertise, will better prepare them for study at degree level. They will also, through their work and community experience, bring a new level of employment and civic awareness which they will be able to apply to their studies”

Dr Hywel Davies, Head of Admissions and Recruitment, University of Aberystwyth

If you Have Any Questions Call Us On 01443 841228